To become a DOT Qualified SAP the following must be met:


One of the following credentials must be held:

  • Licensed physician (Doctor of Medicine or Osteopathy)
  • Licensed or certified social worker
  • Licensed or certified psychologist
  • Licensed or certified employee assistance professional
  • State-licensed or certified marriage and family therapist
  • Credentialed SUD Counselor by a DOT approved organization listed here.


Complete a qualification training. A list of all programs can be found here.


Pass a written examination covering the DOT SAP  knowledge areas. A list of all DOT approved examinations can be found here.

Continuing Education

SAPs are required to have 12 hours of continuing education training every 3 years.
This continuing education must include material concerning new technologies, interpretations, recent guidelines, rule changes, and other information about developments in SAP practice, pertaining to the DOT program, since the time you met the qualification training requirements of this section.
DOT approved trainings can be found here.